Kinda like a dream…

So, here we go again –  been tooo long since my last blog. Been out and about, oh yeah!

RIGHT- I must get this done, been a few weeks since typing the above sentence.

A while back…

Going from being deaf to everything mostly, apart from base, is hard going. You are the same person you have always been but you can hear. Thats so much harder than it sounds.

Its frustrating.

Cant put yer finger on it.

Having to concentrate on sound and work out how not right it is sounding. When you are not even sure how it should sound in the first place.

Would it have been easier to be a baby again and start from scratch rather than picking up where you(think) left off!

So my 9 months tweak was yesterday and I can safely say I’m fairly happy with how the world is sounding.

The radio recepiotn in the living room has thrown a wobbly for a while now. Dont know why. I used to be able to have it out of tune and not notice at all.  Now it drives me bonkers.

PC IS MAKING FUNNY NOISE, DONT WANT TO RISK LOOSING THIS. GONNA SHUT DOWN…….

……….and I’m back.

12 July 2011

Music

I love music, have always listened and had to adjust when my hearing decreased.

You dont miss what you dont know.

NOW….

Is the stereo shit,

Am I hearing shit,

or is the music or singer shit?!

Some old tunes sound great some awful.

Tonight I am sitting in the middle of two guitars. One 12 string and 6 string acoustic

Its beautiful.

I am on IDR 70 – no clearvoice.

The whole sound is just….Oh I don’t want to shed a tear but it is that beautiful, full of life, a round sound.

Thats the great thing when good friends visit, good times happen, beautiful times are had and heard.

I can talk about sound. Oh sound is so important, it can raise so many emotions.

I cant believe just how much of a learning curve this C.I is! Good God, its a whole new world.

I’M LOVING IT.

To feel warm, fuzzy part of whats going on a round you.

might only have 1 C.I but some sounds fill my head.

I still have a lot of auditory memory which now and again is helping me to put my jigsaw together. Now new with old sound.

You couldn’t make this sorta stuff up!

Otter Ferry

10th month to the day for my C.I

I had been keeping an eye on the weather last week as we are to go to Otter ferry saturday night.

It wasnt looking promising…

I had a pre C.I party panic and tried to chicken out. Calmed down and told myself – I CAN HEAR!

Sounds silly but its easy to forget that I can hear in these situations now. Snigger

Sat 16th july- 10 minth since my switch on.

I am partying on a beach in the sun listening to a couple of bands. Beautiful. Was hard not to cry but I managed.  I may never have stopped if id started. Have another beer girl – you deserve it!

I have just been brushing my teeth and pitch and tone have just come alive!

Its a weird thing. Ever since being switched on its been more about volume than other stuff. Pitch and tone are becoming an interesting thing to explore. Guitars… Tonight I heard a fiddle just in front of me. Our friends 15 year old daughter plays. It was amazing. I could cry( I am nearly doing that a lot!)so much at the recent live music I have been lucky enough to hear.

 

Im totally just gonna get this up just now as I have a shed load of new stuff to write up.

Its been a bit crazy lately, in such a good way.

 

More soon I totally promise!

 

 

 

~ by cyborginafield on August 30, 2011.

6 Responses to “Kinda like a dream…”

  1. […] READ ON Share this:FacebookTwitterEmail Deaf Groups […]

  2. Great to see you back!

  3. Amazing to see how far you’ve come in only ten months, no wonder it’s all a bit overwhelming at times. Fab that you’re enjoying live music, wow. Re is the music or singer shit, after listening to the top current Top 40 last Sunday for the first time in yonks, I can confirm yes to both 🙂 Keep on strummin’ gal.

    ps are you still doing your CI inspired exhibition?

Leave a comment