The end of a chapter.

I write this with a heavy heart.

We knew it was coming but still it does not make it easier.

My beautiful dog Ody  who has guided me for many years has finished her job  and is sleeping peacefully.

It was nearly 4 weeks ago now. She was ill and we only had a short time before the end. She was in no pain.

I miss the old girl like you would never believe.

She has been by my side for 13 years, right beside, nearly all the time.

Our house feels empty. I feel lost( so does hubby).

We celebrate her life and how the time was right, it was her time to go, she was tired.

That dog kept me going through many a dark time in my life. It was her who kept me above water.

We explored every nook and cranny of Innellan together and lay in the long grass under the warm sun, walked in the rain, played in the surf,  sat and watched the squirrel, deer and birds.

We are privileged to have had such a beautiful, intelligent and gentle animal in our lives.

No, she didnt like other dogs( long story) but she loved humans, big and small. Always looked after everyone, sleeping beside them, only ever dozing all night long. Keeping us safe.

I shed a tear in happiness thinking about her. Blimey I miss her. Miss her hairiness and big wet nose touching the back of my knee, letting me know she was there, right there.

 

She went to sleep….on my knee….so peacefully.

 

 

 

She has watched go from deaf to hearing and she knew I could hear. Her breathing was a constant noise I had just got to know. Odys life was ending just as mine is blossoming, I could not have done it without her.

She has done her job, oh so well. Now I must go forward without her.

I feel as if my shadow has vanished…slipped away.

 

A wonderful thing happened just after she left us. I won the best creative video from” We Are Northern Lights”  film. Check it out. http://wearenorthernlights.com/

My winning submission is called Listen. Its a short video about my C.I sound. My beautiful girl is in it…winging. So funny.  She will forever be immortalised in a movie. How cool is that!

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by cyborginafield on August 14, 2012.

3 Responses to “The end of a chapter.”

  1. Sorry to hear about Ody. We never forget those we love. Dogs share every moment with you, don’t they? That look they give us when they’re trying to say they understand how we feel.

  2. Sorry to hear about Ody, Soozie. She was a grand dame and you’ve done her proud with a lovely post and her starring role in your film.

    Moira
    x

  3. […] Read on Share this:FacebookTwitterEmail Deaf Groups […]

Leave a Reply

 
